Making Movies

Making Movies

Since getting my old iPhone 3GS and now with my iPhone 4S and the new Coolpix P310 I’ve gotten really in to making short films. Nothing special and usually quite dull but I’m learning all the time and hopefully getting a bit more adventurous with my editing etc.

I started off using the 8mm iPhone app for filming and editing with the Reel Director app. This is state of the art for me now.

Recently I downloaded iSupr8 which is a bit of a different beast. You film your movie clips and then process them ‘in camera’ so to speak. There’s a lot more flexibility in terms of film stock, grain, flicker and the like. Also and here’s the beauty, you can process as many times and ways as you like. Processing the ‘film’ does take quite a while though with HD and uses up a hell of a lot of space. Now we have an iPad, I will probably transfer most film clips over there for processing before downloading to the PC for editing using Windows Live Movie Maker.

Here’s an example of iSupr8.

I think that WLMM is a decent bit of kit… it’s free! I am thinking it’s a bit limited creatively though. Anyone got any recommendations for other film editing software for under £100?

The title of the post… from a band I really liked in their early days – Dire Straits. Don’t laugh! Making Movies was a great album… their last great album too!

Leave a Reply

