Hill Of The Cuckoo

Whilst we were up in Edinburgh I noticed that a number of Lothian bus routes were starting to get a little historical story attached to them such as The Morningside Maisie and this the Number 37 bus to Penicuik.

Pen-Y-Cog 37 Bus

I’ve had a friend who lives in Penicuik, pronounced Pennycook for a number of years who, by chance, also works for Lothian Buses. Being a birder I just loved the bus and made it my mission to photograph one… whenever I had my camera on never bloody passed me did it. The photo above is courtesy of Richard Walter whilst the one below is courtesy of Alan Rintoul… of Penicuik!

Like The Back Of A Bus

Pen-Y-Cog means in the Old Brythonic language – Hill of the Cuckoo – and it doesn’t sound very Scots does it? That’s because the language has more to do with modern Welsh than Gaelic.

Pen-Y-Cog

2 responses to “Hill Of The Cuckoo

  1. Alan Rintoulk

    Well done Drunkbirder for putting Penicuik on the map at last!

  2. ‘Sy Mae’ / ‘hello’ from Wales. Been in Edinburgh this week with work and to my amazment saw this on the bavk of a bus :-) Welsh is my 1st language and ‘Head of the cuckoo’ in modern Welsh is Pen y gôg so yeah more or less the same :-)

Leave a Reply

