Stoated

The highlight at Frampton Marsh was this Weasel the played hide and seek with the camera. It was bloody good at hiding! That good at hiding it took The Leicester Llama to show me the error of my ways.

Stoat

Weasel (Mustela nivalis)

Stoat

Weasel (Mustela nivalis)

I was well and truly stoated!

4 responses to “Stoated

  1. Surely that’s a Weasel rather than a Stoat – no black tip to the tail? Good shots whatever it is – I’ve never managed to photograph either!

  2. thedrunkbirder

    Do you knpw Andy, I think you’re probably right. I thought the tail was a bit long for a Weasel and it was too small for a Stoat. I had therefore taken it as a young Stoat but now you mention it…

  3. The tail does look a bit long, but I think even young stoats have bushier tails than that and always with an obvious black tip.

  4. Although… in the second photo, does it have a suggestion of a slightly darker tail tip? Perhaps it’s a hybrid – a Steasel or a Woat?

Leave a Reply

