We are all in the gutter, but some of us are looking at the starts

Sorry more misquoting Oscar Wilde there but Oscar, if you’re unhappy, sue me!

I started my day more in hope thae expectation by looking for yesterdays Grey Phalarope at Swithland Reservoir. As expected it had either flown or gone the way of most phalaropes at Switho – eaten by a Pike.

I decided that Rutland Water might be a good place to visit after a strong Northerly blow. My optimism was again mispalced. I did catch up with the two LEOs but they were even more difficult to see than last Friday. Gadwall hide had just one Black-necked Grebe showing, they’ve moved to Goldeneye I’m led to understand.

On my walk back to the centre I had a message from Andy Brett that the Black Redstart was showing well at Home Farm in Exton. A quick coffee and I was making my way round there. The Black Redstart was indeed showing well and rather than the usual mousy-brown female/1W types we normally see this was a stunning male.

Black Redstart, Exton, Rutland

Black Redstart, Exton, Rutland

A lot of people ask me what’s my favourite bird and I’m always a bit stuck for an answer. Shrikes are probably my favourite group closely followed by the Redstart clan. Black Redstart is a particular favourite and my dream bird and the bird I would most like to find in Britain is Daurian Redstart.

Black Redstart, Exton, Rutland

Black Redstart, Exton, Rutland

After refueling at the teashop at Gates Garden Centre in Cold Overton, I made my way over to Cossington Meadows for my SEO fix. Whilst waiting I had a chance to photograph a flock of Long-tailed Tit. Failing light and restless little little buggers rendered most shots unusable but this one was ok.

Long-tailed Tit, Cossington Meadows

As usual the Barn Owl and Short-eared Owls proved impossible to photograph but this sunset didn’t.

Other decent birds were a pair of Bullfinch and a dashing male Sparrowhawk.

7 responses to “We are all in the gutter, but some of us are looking at the starts

  1. You given up work then now your a writer?

  2. thedrunkbirder

    No such luck – I’m off sick at the minute. Got down to starting my article today.

  3. Is there some ulterior motive for all this sudden interest in Rutland Water then, John?

  4. That’s one stunning black red…[shame we missed the twat late this afternoon……fuck……..double fuck in fact….and bollox….! Oh well…

  5. thedrunkbirder

    No ulterior motives at all – was hoping the LEOs would show a bit better today. I’m trying to overcome my irrational fear of Rutland Water and going in the week reduces my chances of bumping into too many wankers.

  6. Quality Oscar Wilde headline!

  7. thedrunkbirder

    To be honest Matt the headline wrote itself. Most of the 200 odd shots of the bird are of it partially obscured in the guttering on the houses. At times it disappeared into the gutter and emerged at the other end of the roof.

Leave a Reply

