A Grand Day Out

After dipping the Ring-billed Gull yesterday it was back to Soar Valley duties today. First yearlist tick was the female Cetti’s Warbler by the Bean Goose board at Watermead Country Park South.

I worked the south fully without adding any new species and with relocating any Smew. I decided to give the Cossington South area a good bash and was soon onto a flock of 51 Linnet. Five Tree Sparrow and a female Yellowhammer fell as part of a large finch/bunting flock feeding in the Maize game cover crop.

Bouyed by this I changed tack from my usual route around Cossington Meadows, checking out the Churchyard first. A couple of Goldcrest were pished out but I couldn’t find any Coal Tit. A female Peregrine flew over towards Mountsorrel to keep the list ticking over. The Moat area was heavily flooded as I made my way to Rectory Marsh. A flyover Grey Wagtail was unexpected there. A single Snipe on the marsh but no sign of any Jack Snipe… I haven’t had one here all winter at what has until now been a reliable site.

As I made my way back to the car a female Lesser Spotted Woodpecker was in the Moat area with a tit flock before it flew back towards the Church. It or another was seen briefly in the Churchyard along with a pair of prospecting Nuthatch.

A very productive day with eight new species including the very tricky LSW. I’m now on 89 for the year.

Leave a Reply

