Bad Motor Scoter

On his day off Dave Gray found this handsome mother fucker on the Waterski Pit adjacent to Watermead Country Park North. Knowing the Common Scoter will just sit around all day doing bugger all I felt comfortable in leaving this till I’d finished work.

A combination of distance and poor light means neither photo is particularly sharp.

Common Scoter

Common Scoter

Not really visible is the amount of brown feathering in the wing which probably ages the bird as a first-summer male. Still a good find and bloody typical that I’ve been out looking on every claggy day this month and seen nothing!

As I parked up at Meadow Lane, Birstall  my first Whitethroat of the year was scratching out a bit of song. Norman Cook is apparently going to remix it later. A Sedge Warbler was also belting out a ‘tune’ near the turn to Heron Hide. At least two Arctic Tern were over on King Lear’s Lake as well while I was digiscoping but they had moved on by the time I got around there.

Anyone wondering about the title? Well I’ve paraphrased a brilliant 70s rock song Bad Motor Scooter by Montrose. Very much a pre Van Halen band that featured Ronnie Montrose and Sammy Hagar.

Enjoy this clip.

One response to “Bad Motor Scoter

  1. David Gray

    I thought the same actually with the drake Scoter!

Leave a Reply

