Up The Junction

In the 31 years since the release of Up The Junction by Squeeze something has always bothered me about an otherwise brilliant song. Check out the following lyrics and tell me what’s wrong.

This morning at four fifty
I took her rather nifty
Down to an incubator
Where thirty minutes later
She gave birth to a daughter
Within a year a walker
She looked just like her mother
If there could be another

Yes, I know what you’re all thinking… babies aren’t born in incubators. They are born in Maternity Wards and may be transferred to an incubtor if there are problems. Does anyone know of any other really stupid lyrics by Chris Difford and Glenn Tilbrook?

For you Fans out there here’s a bit more classic stuff.

4 responses to “Up The Junction

  1. Well I wasn’t aware that Maid Marian featured at all in the William Tell story….

    Incidentally, Cool for Cats was the first single I ever bought. It was on pink vinyl. Not that that’s why I bought it, I should add!

  2. thedrunkbirder

    Ah, a good spot Andy… who said Difford and Tilbrook were the new Lennon and McCartney eh?

    I think we all, of a certain age, had Cool For Cats on pink vinyl. Banana Splits by The Dickies on yellow and Milk and Alcohol on either white or brown… or both!

  3. Yes, I had the yellow Banana Splits as well, although I actually preferred the B side, which was a track called Hideous I seem to recall.

  4. I was always annoyed by the tense in Up The Junction- he took her’ this morning’ but then is talking about events in the past tense. If he meant ‘one morning I took her’why not say that! I think I am being pedantic but I never realy loved that song as much as it deserved. My favourite is Pulling Mussels(Or is it Muscles?) from the Shell but I bet that had some poor grammer too.

Leave a Reply

