Back To Nature Alive

I went back to Nature Alive this morning – I’m becoming something of a regular here, though today, I didn’t see another soul. There were plenty of folk at Aldi and McDonalds but none bothered to get in touch with the nature on their doorstep. What is it with a majority of the population? They will happily ooh and aah at Springwatch etc but they hardly ever bother to get close to nature. A few days ago I was showing a mother and her son the ovipositing female Emperor Dragonfly and she started going on about Dragonflies biting… I metaphorically slapped my forehead and tried to explain that this didn’t happen…

Anyway, back to today, plenty of insect activity this morning, I logged Emperor, Southern Hawker, Brown Hawker, Common Darter, female Broad-bodied Chaser and Black-tailed Skimmer as well as adding a male Banded Demoiselle to my growing site list.

Black-tailed Skimmer

Black-tailed Skimmer

This head on shot shows the fearsome jaws the give Dragonflies their scientific species name, Odonata.

Black-tailed Skimmer

female Broad-bodied Chaser

Plenty of Butterflies on the wing too, good numbers of Comma and Peacock with the usual suspects. At least four Common Blue and two Small Copper were new species for me here. Some areas look good for Brown Argus, Dingy and Grizzled Skipper in season… I’ll have to check next spring.

Common Blue

Small Copper

Small Copper

Small Copper

Peacock

A few new birds for the list as well with Goldfinch and Dunnock being logged – not spectacular I know but the site list is growing slowly.

One response to “Back To Nature Alive

  1. Matt Merritt

    It is a great place, but to be honest I’m not sure most people around Coalville even know it’s there. Because all that’s visible from the bypass is the trees screening the site, I think everyone assumes that all that’s behind them is part of that industrial estate.

    There’s some great spots either side of that stretch of the bypass, though, and they’re always quiet.

Leave a Reply

