Speakers Wanted!

For my sins, I’ve agreed to try and put together a programme for the Leicestershire and Rutland Ornithological Society’s indoor meetings for 2011 and maybe beyond.

If you are a speaker and live within travelling distance of Leicester I would love to hear from you. Our indoor meetings take place on the first Friday of each month from October to May at either Oadby or Rothley.

If you think you can help please contact me to discuss dates, topics, fees etc.

10 responses to “Speakers Wanted!

  1. Bloody hell John your blog seems to be carrying an add for a Stock and Shares selling/buying iphone app WTF.

  2. thedrunkbirder

    What? Are you being silly?

  3. No there was a google add for a stocks and shares app right below the above post!

  4. thedrunkbirder

    Hmmm, that didn’t show when I checked. I wonder if they don’t display when I look. Have there been any others? If they are going to advertise without my knowledge/approval they can just fuck off!

  5. David Gray

    Hmmm, no app when I looked at John’s Blog, are looking at from your I-phone Mark?

  6. thedrunkbirder

    Cheers Dave. I’ve not had anyone report that before.

  7. Marcus Lawson

    Hello John,
    I can see that ad now as well, it only appears when you look at an individual blog entry and not on the homepage. I’m on a PC so it’s not just an apple thing.

    Jealous as f*ck about your Camberwell Beauty, years back whilst at Reculver something buzzed past which I got all excited about as I thought it may have been one of these. I chased after it and saw where it perched up, imagine my disappointment when I saw it was just a moth. It wasn’t until a few weeks later whilst down at Dunge that we figured out it was Clifden Nonpareil!!

    All the best
    Marcus

  8. thedrunkbirder

    Cheers Marcus, feel free to say fuck on here! Are you on Shetland this autumn? We’ve got to take care of your brother!

  9. thedrunkbirder

    Mark and Marcus, it seems WordPress does allow adverts to keep the service free and if i want an ad free blog I’d have to cough up to upgrade. I checked out and the ads didn’t seem too obtrusive and therefore I won’t upgrade yet… if however the ads start taking over then I will upgrade to eliminate them.

  10. I can’t say I’ve noticed Google ads here before, but there is certainly one showing now, between the original post and the start of the comments…. for some speakers (of the audio variety)! I wonder if they live within travelling distance of Leicester…

Leave a Reply

