Yellow-legged Gull – Closing in on 140

I dropped into Watermead CP South this afternoon for a short break on my way to a visit. I was still hoping that a scan over the main lake might reveal a Black Tern feeding, it’s the best spot in the Soar Valley to find one. No Tern but a spanking adult Yellow-legged Gull on the island. It flew onto the water to join a Lesser Black-backed Gull and then quickly flew off towards the Nature Reserve lake revealing active primary moult P5 looked to have been dropped with P4 about halfway out.

So not the hoped for tick but No 139 as I close in on the magic 140 species total I set myself back in January. I’m still hoping for a Black Tern but Redstart would be a great way to hit the target.

Leave a Reply

