Drunkbirder TV – Kentish Glory

A late start this morning due to alcohol consumption the night before. A brief stop at Micky D’s for a Bacon Roll meal and I took a call from Dave who was vismigging at Watermead… any chance the tiny passage of birds might tempt me to change my plans? No way.

I was soon over at Eyebrook Reservoir and watching a VC55 lifer. It’s a bloody long time since I last saw a Kentish Plover in Britain, 1997 in fact. There have been plenty abroad since then but not here. A great find by Roger Davis, Dave Gray et al. Once again when seen in juvenile plumage I have to say I’m with the Yanks on names – Snowy Plover is so much better especially when the fly.

Here’s a bit of distant footage, video-digiscoped at 50x and full zoom on the camera.

The Pectoral Sandpiper that’s been present since Friday has had to make do with playing second fiddle.

Leave a Reply

