Beardy Weirdies

Out to Rutland Water this morning to try and add Bearded Tit to my County list. Allen Pocock was already in Shoveler Hide when I arrived and had had good views of a female bird. After a bit of calling I glimpsed the arse end of a bird that could only have been a Bearded Tit but what crap views they were. The other Groby Boys arrived along with Matthew Berriman and we sat in ready for a long session. After a good while we were rewarded with some brief flight views and treated to views of an Otter (well I saw a brown smudge as my eyepiece steamed up) before the Beardies finally gave themselves up.

Sorry about the quality of these videos, focusing on a small bird at 40x mag in reeds isn’t easy!

Andy Mackay informed us that a Water Pipit and Rock Pipit were showing by the Dam, sadly these had bugger off before I got there. Eight Whooper Swan flying east were nice though… thanks Andy for banging on my window – I was away with the fairies I think!

Leave a Reply

