The Llama Saves The Day

For days now I’ve been racking my brains for the classical score that I remembered from the Apollo 11 launch. Googling didn’t help neither did posting on facebook or my blog. Today, I suddenly thought if anyone will remember it will be Andy Mackay and he didn’t disappoint. The first text nailed it… it was Also Sprach Zarathustra by Richard Strauss. Now thanks to The Llama, I can bore you all with another Apollo 11 launch film…

6 responses to “The Llama Saves The Day

  1. Never bored with this sort of stuff…!

    Of course you do realize John that many folk would associate this piece of music with the film ‘2001 a space odessy’….?…yunno…the bit where the ape goes all ape-shit and starts banging the crap out of stuff with a big bone in slow motion….

  2. thedrunkbirder

    I do Colin and I must be the only person in the world that thinks 2001 was great big pile of shit. I don’t know what it is but I just can’t get it… the Apollo missions though inspired me, I loved space exploration and still do I guess. I’d have given anything to see a live Saturn V launch.

  3. Wikipedia says: 2001 a space odessy was considered for being both one of the most scientifically realistic and visually innovative science fiction films ever made while maintaining an enigmatic non-linear storyline…

    ps….and although i agree with that, i still prefer your description of the film as ‘a great big pile of shit’…..[and i’m sure you aren’t alone in thinking that]…!

    Back on point tho…it is a shame that the race to space has run out of pace…
    [i remember well watching the TV in awe as man first set foot on the moon]….but of course the clangers had been there for fuckin ages…

  4. thedrunkbirder

    I always remember the first Moon landing as it was on my Mum’s birthday… strangely the Clangers kept a low profile through the whole Apollo programme. I wonder how they’re getting on these days? Tiny Clanger must have kids himself these days…

  5. The clangers were very wise to keep a low profile when the ‘white suits’ were fuckin around on their planet….!

    ps…tiny clanger sent me an email the other day and told me to inform the inhabitants of our planet not believe everything they see on earthTV….[he was, of course, indirectly referring to the Wallace n Gromit episode over which all the clangers had a dam good laugh at]! This preposterous program suggested that the moon was actually made of cheese and whilst all the clangers were giggling at the ridiculous notion the soup dragon almost choked on a crouton. [Luckily the ‘iron bird’ knew of the heimlich maneuver and managed to remove the offending crouton which was forcibly propelled from the dragons gob]….

    pps…re the ‘iron bird’…..the clangers have also informed me that they wish to suppress the exact location of this rare heavy metal bird and do not want to see any twitchers arriving on the moon in white suits…

    ppps…tiny clanger does have kids now John…[he knitted himself a few just the other day]….they all send their best wishes….

  6. David Gray

    …and you will be pleased to know that Small Clanger is living happily in Western Park for the last ten years!!
    and for once John I would agree with about the film 2001, biggest load of shite! The Simpsons did a better version!!

Leave a Reply

