Pearl’s A Singer

I’m finally home after a long weekend in Dorset. I had been led to believe I had WiFi in my B&B so had hoped to be uploading on a nightly basis. However due to ‘download issues’ I had to wait till I got home.

Anyway, that said, I started out at 06.00 and after a reasonably easy trip down I made it to Bentley Wood and parked by the Eastern clearing. It was clear that Small Pearl-bordered Fritillary were out in some numbers. Never easy to approach and getting that classic underwing shot was nigh on impossible.

Small Pearl-bordered Fritillary

Small Pearl-bordered Fritillary

Small Pearl-bordered Fritillary

A few Pearl-bordered Fritillary were still on the wing but having emerged almost a month ago most were pretty tatty and not worth publishing. Also  on the wing were Speckled Yellow Moth and a stunning Argent and Sable Moth.

Here’s a bit of Elkie Brooks – who inspired the title.

One response to “Pearl’s A Singer

  1. YEP !!!! Elkie Brooks the U.K.s best. Powereful voice.

Leave a Reply

