Little Blue

I was back at Durlston Country Park on Saturday after speaking to a Ranger as I left on the Friday… this time I had some info on the Small Blue. I walked through a few fields and into a sheltered lane and bang, Small Blue butterflies were absolutely everywhere. They were out in their 1000s, it was no exaggeration.

Small Blue

Small Blue

Durlston looks a superb place for birding as well as the insects but sadly the winds were all wrong. Whitethroat though were everywhere and I’m sure the Small Blues suffer an amount of predation.

Whitethroat

I must be honest and I do prefer the older name for Small Blue – Little Blue – hence the title. Here’s a song from the Beautiful South, sadly Little Blue isn’t on You Tube so another song from the album Blue Is The Colour.

Leave a Reply

