Streptopelia turtur

I thought I’d try Birstall Meadows first this morning, more in hope than expectation. Water levels would be high after Sunday’s rain so I didn’t expect a rare wader. As I entered through the gate I became aware of a soft, familiar purring coming from the hedge. A beautiful Turtle Dove, a bird really just hanging on in VC55 and not a regular down the Soar Valley now by any stretch of the imagination.

Last year I thought I’d probably seen my last in the area but when two were reported nearly a month ago I had high hopes of them breeding. None were seen subsequently until this morning. Are they hanging on or was this just a chance encounter? Only time will tell.

Leave a Reply

