Camp? McKinney?

Trouble Ahead?

Another famous and favourite birding destination is the Camp McKinney Road that winds up from Oliver to the Mt Baldy Ski Resort. Here by Km10 you can see Gray Flycatcher the only place in B.C. where you can do this… and I think the whole of Canada. As I was watching the birds and their close relative the Dusky Flycatcher I became aware of what sounded like Common Nighthawk with their ‘peent’ and ‘boom’ calls. Surely not at 10.45? Well yes, at least two birds, I watched transfixed for ages and then tried to grab some record shots. They were high so auto-focus wouldn’t work so it was back to manual… not easy when you’re looking straight up.

Common Nighthawk

Common Nighthawk

At 11.15 I tore myself away as I was hoping to do a podcast with Tom McKinney, himself and Charlie Moores. Sadly I could have stayed longer but what a memory.

Daisy

As I got to the bottom of the hill I flushed this Turkey Vulture from and area that’s brilliant for Long-billed Curlew.

Turkey Vulture

Turkey Vulture

Turkey Vulture

Leave a Reply

