Terned Out To Be A Good Day

Dave rang me today from his new iPhone to say there was a Black Tern at Watermead CP South this afternoon so after work I set off for there. On the way I got a call to say the bird was now at Birstall. Bugger it, that’s outside the City. I decided to give Watermead a try and there was a Black Tern, roosting on the island… two bird theory into practice.

Elated, I decided to check out Birstall Meadows as the water levels were falling. Only a few Lapwings on the wader front but a Wigeon was back. Pochard and according to Dave, Teal are also back today so surely anything could turn up. As I was speaking to Dave a juvenile Marsh Harrier got up from the area at the Watermead side of the Meadows and buggered off down the Soar towards the City… much to Dave’s annoyance. A cracking City tick.

Here are a couple of shots from Friday when I gave my new Black Rapid RS-7 camera strap a test.

Black-headed Gull

Black-headed Gull

Black-headed Gull

Black-headed Gull

Common Tern

4 responses to “Terned Out To Be A Good Day

  1. I can’t believe you’ve bought one of those Rapid RS 7 things
    You could have bought a Dog Lead to do the same thing!!!

  2. David Gray

    Jammy bugger with Marsh Harrier!!

  3. Did you buy that strap from I Saw You Coming Photography Supplies 😉

  4. thedrunkbirder

    It’s a good strap – reduces the weight of a big lens greatly.

Leave a Reply

