Pesky Tit

News today of an Azure Tit or hybrid in a garden in Buckinghamshire has set some twitchers hearts racing. Sadly I’ve been caught out before by a Pine Grosbeak in Herts to get too excited. The excitement though is starting to wane as it’s gone from Azure to Pleske’s Tit to Yellow-breasted Tit to abnormal Blue Tit.

The weather has been totally wrong, it’s far too early, do I need to go on? Whatever it was it was all bollocks and I hope no-one seriously fancied twitching it? If you did you probably qualify as Biggest Tit!

7 responses to “Pesky Tit

  1. You can guarantee that some people will twitch it if they can, for various reasons, e.g. “because it’s a smart bird”, “it’s educational” or just to prove to everyone else that they’re “not interested in the numbers game”. Twitching a bird to prove that you’re not a twitcher – now that really is fucking ridiculous!

  2. P.S. whatever that bird is, anyone who thinks it’s an abnormal Blue Tit has clearly never looked properly at a Blue Tit. Since when did Blue Tits have white outer tail feathers and big fuck-off white tertial tips and wing bars, for a start? There’s a limit to how abnormal a bird can be!

  3. I was so excited by this bird that i rushed off immediately……to Eye Brook Reservoir…..

    ps….interesting looking bird tho…if it was hanging on my nuts i’d look at it…

  4. thedrunkbirder

    It’s obviously something that’s jumped the wire somewhere. It does look pretty nice but fuck me, it’s no Azure.

  5. Its in my garden and I can tell you categorically that it is NOT a blue tit. It is larger for a start, and whatever it turns out to be it is a stunning bird. I feel very privileged that it chose my feeders to visit!

  6. thedrunkbirder

    Hi Paula, I’m not having a dig at you. Well done for bringing an interesting bird to the attention of a few. I wish it were an Azure Tit, I’d buy you a drink if it was. No, I’m making fun of the twitchers, of who I am one, getting in a lather about it.

  7. well it was great fun while it lasted and we met some very nice people and have made some new friends. Its still here but it turns out it is a yellow breasted tit but it was being kept illegally somewhere in High Wycombe and so it is an escaped cage bird. If I see any one out there with a big net I know who to call.

Leave a Reply

