Mugimaki Magic

I’d kind of forgotten about this since returning from Scilly but for some reason I was dreaming of rares I’d love to find and Mugimaki Flycatcher sprang to mind. This made me think about the reports that were coming through on Birdguides from Italy where a Mugimaki Flycatcher was trapped at Bagalino near Bresica.

1W Mugimaki Flycatcher photo Robert Barezzani

With previous records from Treviso in Italy in October 1957 and the infamous Stone Creek bird on 16-17 November 1991 neither accepted and a record of adult male from Neftekamsk, Russia, on 2 August 2007 it is surely time for the BOURC to review the Stone Creek bird. Mugimaki Flycatcher is a more likely vagrant than Chestnut-eared Bunting, which made the British List with little fuss. I have no axe to grind here with the BOU as I wasn’t twitching at the time and never saw (or even heard about) the bird.

It seems unlikely that this latest bird is an escape with no recent imports into Italy but I guess we can never be sure and all records apart from the Russian adult fall right on the money for Far Eastern vagrants so come on, what do we think?

6 responses to “Mugimaki Magic

  1. It’s on my list

  2. thedrunkbirder

    From Stone Creek I guess. Do you count it? I know loads that do.

  3. Stone Creek bird on my list too. Balls to BOURC…

  4. thedrunkbirder

    All well and good but why is it on and does the latest Italian record vindicate your decisions? Is it, and Yellow-rumped Flycatcher something that should be on our rarity radars more?

  5. On mine too thanks to Russ. Why? Because it’s a fucking huge blocker 😉

  6. thedrunkbirder

    Not yet though. I’d like to see the BOU see sense though.

Leave a Reply

