MiTunes: Rare Bird Alert – Steve Martin & The Steep Canyon Rangers

I’d heard about Steve Martin doing a Bluegrass album and being a bit of a mean banjo player but until yesterday I hadn’t heard the album. Imagine my surprise when I saw it was called Rare Bird Alert… sadly not inspired by Dick Filby but apparently while on location for The Big Year in Vancouver, his wife told him about the North American version of the RBA.

I must admit to being pretty damned impressed with the album and I’ve played it over a few times in the car today.

Younger readers may be forgiven for thinking Steve Martin just appears in shite films but back in the day he made some fantastic comedies and was a bloody good stand-up too.

Leave a Reply

