Wader Love

After watching The Big Year last night and a few beers at Barrington’s – a couple of nice Great Oakley beers thanks for asking – I set of early for Cley. On arrival, I was greeted by Pat Dwyer who recognised the voice from the podcasts, not the last time today, who tipped me off that the Western Sandpiper was showing well from Bishop Hide… it wasn’t! Bloody thing had been flushed by a Sparrowhawk.

I made my way round to Avocet Hide and spent a couple of happy hours watching the bird, taking notes, making sketches and getting a few photos and videos. The latter won’t set the world alight or add to the debate but I would need some convincing that this peep was not a Western…

Western Sandpiper

Western Sandpiper

Western Sandpiper

I wandered back round to Bishop Hide, stopping to watch this beautiful male Marsh Harrier, to have a look at the Green-winged Teal.

After a chat with fellow blogger Penny Clarke, who I failed to persaude to come on the Conference Calls, I headed off to the cafe for a Bacon Bap and a coffee. What a view from the Visitor Centre.

Cley Marshes

Next stop was Burnham Overy where I finally caught up with the Rough-legged Buzzard that is wintering there. Sadly it was too distant for any usable video or photos but this Pink-footed Goose was easier and a Billy no-mates.

Pink-footed Goose

After dropping in at Titchwell, where I again missed the Yellow-browed Warbler, at least one Mealy Redpoll was showing well from the feeding station.

On my way home I stopped off for a eight Common Crane at Guyhirn. Couldn’t get all eight in the shot so you’ll have to make do with five.

Common Crane

So, why the title? Well think Jonathon Woss intwoduthing the cwassic by Golden Earwing…

 

Leave a Reply

