Rattus norvegicus

One of the joys of my job is I’m often out of the office and I get to take my lunch break in nice places. On Thursday I was out in NW Leicestershire so I dropped in for a quick visit to Kelham Bridge. Up to five Willow Tit were coming to the feeders but without my DSLR digiscoping was nigh on impossible.

Other visitors to the feeders were a bit easier such as this Brown Rat. Rats get a bad press but we need them to clear up some of the shit we discard so cut them some slack.

Brown Rat

This male Great Spotted Woodpecker would also drop on to the feeders then take nuts to a tree to eat them.

Leave a Reply

