Gulling

I seem to have caught some kind of Gull watching bug… it must be those colour ringed Mediterranean Gulls that have caused my problem. Well today after work I dropped in to Watermead Country Park South to see what was about. In the car park there were at least three colour-ringed Black-headed Gulls, two adults: white JAN4 and red V192 the first is from Norway I understand and the second Denmark. There was also a 1W, white T5PP that I believe to be from Poland. I will post more when I get any information.

Common Gull

In addition there were at least 150 Common Gull around and a small number of Lesser Black-backed Gull and Herring Gull. The first of the Lessers was an interesting looking bird in that it did appear very, very dark. Probably and intermedius bird but I’d welcome any thoughts. The third and fourth photos are of graellsii.

Lesser Black-backed Gull

Lesser Black-backed Gull

Lesser Black-backed Gull

Lesser Black-backed Gull

The last bird was a very smart summer-plumaged bird that started doing a bit of long-calling.

Leave a Reply

