Beans, Beans, Good For Your Heart

I had a text this afternoon from Dave Gray to say the Tundra Bean Goose was on his WeBS count. That could only mean it was in the Watermead Country Park North/Wanlip Meadows area. I was unable to get hold of Dave on his mobile so I set off towards Wanlip. On the way a Birdguides message came in to say the bird was back at Wanlip North… buggeration!

I headed up there but no sign of any Geese. I had then missed a call back from Dave who was again unreachable for a while. When I did get hold of him, he ‘fessed up to putting out duff gen on Birdnet, so back to Wanlip Meadows it was. The goose flock was in the field by Church Road in the village.

As it was getting on for 15.00 and the weather was deteriorating I’m afraid any digiscope shots are pretty poor. The 17 European White-fronted Geese were easy to pick up but the Tundra Bean Goose too some finding as I was right at the back of the flock and constantly getting obscured by the Greylags.

European White-fronted Geese

Tundra Bean Goose

One response to “Beans, Beans, Good For Your Heart

  1. Actually John, it was duff gen from bird guides, as Birdnet put out the message correctly what I had phoned in!!

Leave a Reply

