It’s A Pied!

So the news is in and the Flamborough ficedula is a 1S Pied Flycatcher according to the mDNA analysis. I guess if that is the case then it must be an Iberian but will we ever be sure? Whatever it was it was a smart bird and hopefully all those of us who (finally) went to see it will have learned something.

Pied Fly

As Martin Garner is fond of saying, it’s all about learning and trying to look at things with a fresh pair of eyes.

I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t gutted that Atlas Flycatcher isn’t my 450th BOU species… it’s not so no point crying over it.

6 responses to “It’s A Pied!

  1. I’m not sure it does mean that ‘it must be an Iberian’, does it? Wouldn’t that show up as being different to nominate Pied on DNA analysis?

  2. thedrunkbirder

    Dunno Andy but I’m going on my experience in the field of Pied and my limited experience of Spanish Pied… hopefully I’ll see a few more in a couple of weeks time.

  3. The trouble with groups of closely related birds like these is that ‘what it looks like’ may bear little or no relation to ‘what it actually is’ when you start looking at DNA. Not much use to twitchers or field birders, but probably something we’re just going to have to put up with in the future. Either that or just ignore it all and enjoy the birds we can identify.

  4. thedrunkbirder

    True…

  5. From the thread on Birdforum: Martin Collinson said “…the first DNA results look like nominate Pied, not the other spp. or a hybrid.” So he seems to be saying that it wasn’t Iberian, since that isn’t the nominate race. As I said, what it looks like ain’t the same thing as what it is any more!

  6. David Gray

    Still a nice looking bird!…

Leave a Reply

