Sunshine On Leigh

After arriving in Edinburgh and checking in with Alan about post-match beers, Leigh and I made our way via The Café Royal and lunch (Haggis, Neeps and Tatties of course) down Leith Walk to Easter Road.

Easter Road is one of those iconic grounds that I’ve always wanted to visit. More for the atmosphere I think than the football. Lets be honest SPL football at the minute is pish! No matter after a bit of confusion we were soon in the Famous Five Stand (upper) trying to enjoy some football – difficult when it appears John Beck has coached both teams.

The first half was dire though Hibs rattled the post and went in 1-1 at half-time against a stubborn if limited St Mirren side.

The second half was a much better affair with pantomime villain, Jim Goodwin was dismissed Shortly after Griffiths had given Hibs the lead with his second goal. Griffiths also hit the post for a second time before they took their foot off the gas allowing St Mirren to pile forward. The last ten minutes were heart-stopping for Hibees fans before the win took them to the top of the SPL.

20121104-081237.jpg

One of the best bits is the Hibs anthem, The Proclaimers haunting Sunshine On Leith.

My heart was broken, my heart was broken
Sorrow Sorrow Sorrow Sorrow
My heart was broken, my heart was broken

You saw it, You claimed it
You touched it, You saved it

My tears are drying, my tears are drying
Thankyou Thankyou Thankyou Thankyou
My tears are drying, my tears are drying
Your beauty and kindness

Made tears clear my blindness
While I’m worth my room on this earth
I will be with you

While the Chief, puts Sunshine On Leith
I’ll thank him for his work
And your birth and my birth.

My heart was broken, my heart was broken
Sorrow Sorrow Sorrow Sorrow
My heart was broken, my heart was broken

While I’m worth my room on this earth
I will be with you

While the Chief, puts Sunshine On Leith
I’ll thank him for his work
And your birth and my birth.

Yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah.

Leave a Reply

