Lighthouse Family

On our way home on Wednesday, Leigh and I took the long way round via Happisburgh as I wanted some photos of the lighthouse and we both wanted a look at the church. A very nice church too. This was taken using the Hipstamatic app with a Bettie XL lens, BlacKeys Supergrain film and no flash.

20130104-085426.jpg
Happisburgh Church

On to the lighthouse. The weather was foul, leaden, featureless skies, driving rain… just perfect for photography. Well in the days of film, I wouldn’t have even bothered going but with digital I’m sure we can salvage something out of most photos. I took this in RAW and used a single-shot HDR technique in Adobe Camera Raw and the merged them in Photomatix to produce something I felt I could work with.

20130104-085913.jpg
Happisburgh Lighthouse

Here are a few Hipstamatic shots too that can make any dull day pop a bit.

20130104-090147.jpg
Buckhorst H1 lens, Pistil film, no flash

20130104-090327.jpg
Jane lens, Claunch 72 Monochrome film, no flash

20130104-090437.jpg
Bettie XL lens, W40 film, no flash

The final image was processed in Topaz Simplify from the earlier HDR image. I like and Dave Gray thinks it has shades of an Edward Hopper watercolour so that pleases me. I hope you like them.

20130104-090752.jpg

Leave a Reply

