Trainspotter

As I’m sure most readers will know, I enjoy of bit of retro trainspotting. Not for me the modern railway scene but these days what gets called heritage diesels. I had spotted that the East Lancashire Railway were doing a 1960s diesel theme day; so with Mike Speight we set off yesterday morning to Bury.

20130106-082153.jpg
Bury Bolton Street Station

Things got off to a slow start as I think the number of visitors overwhelmed the guy selling tickets which resulted in a 20 minute delay to the first trains of the day. I was soon enjoying a bit of trash though first behind the Class 40 D335 and then D9016 Gordon Highlander. Mike got stuck at Ramsbottom for a while after he helped someone who slipped and the jobs worth guard wouldn’t let him on the train.

20130106-082618.jpg
Deltic D9016 Gordon Highlander

There were also shunter shuttles but we settled for the Class 117 DMU shuttle to Heywood and the chance for a nice pie and pint in the Trackside pub at Bury. I had the Cottage Brewery Deltic Diesel at 4.5%… bloody lovely.

20130106-083329.jpg
Class 117 DMU

A few more trips including my first behind a Class 14 ‘Teddy Bear’ though I must say I don’t care much for ‘topping and tailing’ locos.

20130106-083554.jpg
Class 14 D9531

20130106-083647.jpg
Rawtenstall Station

Our final trip was a twilight double-header by D335 and D9016. All the photos here were from the iPhone 4S using either and Hipstamatic or Pro HDR apps, the latter post processed in Snapseed. There will be more, boring photos and videos or the coming days and weeks I’m sure.

20130106-084035.jpg
Ramsbottom Station

7 responses to “Trainspotter

  1. Nice to see you having the courage to come out, hopefully it will encourage more people to realise that train spotters are people too, not to be shunned and derided just because they’re a little different to you and I. Good for you John!

  2. thedrunkbirder

    I’ve been out a while Alan… never hidden my love of railways.

  3. dont let anyone shunt you,I like football grounds go to see one,it’s there they dont fly away

  4. alan whitehead

    Great memories for a lad from Bury

  5. thedrunkbirder

    Cheers lads!

  6. Good to see there are other fellow birder + gricers out there.
    More of a 37 man my self.

  7. thedrunkbirder

    Cheers for the comments. I’ll link your blog when I get to the PC.
    Had a great day on Saturday.

Leave a Reply

