On Shrike!

What do we want?
Shrike!
When do we want it?
Now!

Magpie! Magpie! Magpie!
Out! Out! Out!
Magpie out! Magpie out!
Magpie! Magpie! Magpie!
Out! Out! Out!

Up and out to Upper Longdon on the edge of Cannock Chase to revisit the returning Great Grey Shrike. Shrikes are pretty much my favourite birds and Great Grey Shrike is a real stunner.
Sadly the light wasn’t great and I had to endure a few snow flurries but the Shrike performed brilliantly.

All these images are digiscoped through the Kowa 883 scope with a 30ww eyepiece using an SRB-Griturn alignment collar and the superb Nikon P310 Coolpix compact camera. At times I was up to ISO800 but hey, grain used to make a photo. I cropped and processed the images quickly using Snapseed on the iPad. When I’ve more time I’m sure I’ll revisit some of the images.

20130112-134521.jpg

20130112-134545.jpg

20130112-134556.jpg

20130112-134605.jpg

20130112-134617.jpg

Leave a Reply

