iPhonescoping

After work today I dropped into Thornton Reservoir to catch up with the Black-necked Grebe. A lovely little bird that showed pretty well at the Village end of the Reservoir. This species is one of the few where I prefer the American name – Eared Grebe. I still prefer Slavonian Grebe to Horned Grebe though. Apart from Pied-billed Grebe, Slav is the only one I need for Thornton now.

20130415-172917.jpg

I took a good few images with the Coolpix P310 but I wanted to do some iPhonescoping so out came the Kowa TSN-IP4S adaptor. I cranked up the zoom on the eyepiece to 40x and did a few test shots before it moved too far out. The ones using Camera+ app came out better than the Kowa Telecamera app. I couldn’t get my exposure right due to the glare off the water.
Before I could do any video the bird swam out of range.

To finish the image I cropped and processed it in Snapseed.

4 responses to “iPhonescoping

  1. Blimey John. Wouldn’t it be easier to buy a decent camera and lens, and be done with all this 21st century iphone/app/snapseed/making life hard for yourself stuff. You could just wander up, take a photo with a camera/lens, and then go home again. 😉

  2. thedrunkbirder

    Oh Rob… where’s the fun in that?

  3. You could spend more time birding?

  4. thedrunkbirder

    Rob, I wish I could be arsed at the moment – really can’t get motivated, been in the birding dumps since the first week of January

Leave a Reply

