Reelin’ In The Ears

Yesterday morning I took Minnie down to Cossington Meadows to try for the summer-plumage Spotted Redshank that had been found there the previous day. As I made my way to the Upper Marsh area I could hear three different Grasshopper Warblers reeling, two in Brook Close and one on the Lower Marsh. Added to the two still in the Brook Wood area and we have a small colony of five singing males. I did also see what I assume to be a female skulking close to one of the males.

On Upper Marsh the only Redshank proved to be Common and I couldn’t see anything on Hobley’s either. Backtracking I came across this handsome male Reed Bunting by the main track. I’d only taken the digiscoping kit and only got the one good shot before he flew.

Reed Bunting

Reed Bunting

Leave a Reply

