Nighty Night

After finishing duty today I was stuck in traffic on London Road when my text alert went off… a Twitter message giving news of a Night Heron at Thornton Reservoir. Arse, I’m stuck in traffic on the wrong side of town, heading the wrong way. It took me half an hour to get to the Holiday Inn roundabout and then a reasonably clear run to Thornton. In the car park I met the man who ‘re-found’ the bird John and Ian Merrill. I say re-found as we’d had reports of a small streaky Heron but none of the regulars had managed to locate the culprit.

A quick hike round and we were watching a cracking immature.

20130731-201517.jpg

20130731-201530.jpg

Not having a camera with me you’ll have to make do with a couple of shots taken on the iPhone using the excellent Kowa TSN-IP4S adaptor!

Another long overdue addition to many VC55 lists… much to the chagrin of The Leicester Llama.

2 responses to “Nighty Night

  1. Colin Green

    Nice images mate………

  2. thedrunkbirder

    Cheers Col – better than I got with the Coolpix.

Leave a Reply

