Back In Black

This morning Eddy Merckx (oops, Dave Gray) and I were joined by vismig virgin Steve James… the omens weren’t good a strong NNW generally kills any vismig inland. I had a Tree Pipit and flava Wagtail over whilst Steve was still in the car park and Dave was still in bed – well he was cycling over… so I was reasonably optimistic. Add Mark Reeder’s superb Long-tailed Skua at Orgreave yesterday and I thought it was worth a punt.

Mammoth

Mammoth

As predicted the vismig was pretty non-existent, another flava, a Little Ringed Plover, sort of, heading NE and a small flock of eight Snipe that went West were the highlights. The wind as well started to get pretty chilly – gloves would have been nice – so at 09.15 we gave up. I still had a nagging doubt that something would turn up. Steve headed for his patch at Barrow Sewage Works and Dave headed to town. I headed to Micky D’s for a breakfast for Leigh and I.

Count details here.

No sooner had I got home than Ken Goodrich text me… 15 Black Tern had just dropped in! Buggeration! Breakfasted, Leigh, Minnie and I were soon back on site. My Canon 40D really struggles with focus on birds as small as Black Tern. ok, I can’t blame the camera, I’m rubbish at flight photos…

Black Tern

Black Tern

Black Tern

Black Tern

Black Tern

Black Tern

Years ago following the death of Bon Scott I struggled to accept the new AC/DC line up and shunned Back In Black… I now have to concede that it’s a classic.

The opening track really is a belter… I love that opening guitar hook from Angus Young.

Leave a Reply

