Forgive Me Father

It’s been over a month since my last blog post. In all honesty I’ve just not been bothered by birding of late and even only the second County Glossy Ibis couldn’t tempt me out.

Today however a Twitter message as I finished work alerted me to a County first… a Pied-billed Grebe at Rutland Water. Well, it’d be rude not to. A quick dash along the A47 and I was soon enjoying a summer-plumaged adult. Get in!

After a few minutes watching it was time to get out the excellent Phone Skope iPhone adaptor marketed by Newpro. Clipping my phone in was quick and easy and there’s no way the phone is coming out once it’s in. The eyepiece ring is interchangeable depending on your chosen spotting scope. The fit on my Kowa 883 is perfect straight from the packaging. So, set up in seconds, I was getting some excellent results even at distance.

20140409-194711.jpg

All the images and video were taken at 60x magnification.

20140409-194824.jpg

20140409-194832.jpg

20140409-194844.jpg

20140409-194854.jpg

20140409-194905.jpg

 

2 responses to “Forgive Me Father

  1. Ken Reeves

    Nothing on your site lately John. Are you OK ?

  2. thedrunkbirder

    I’m fine Ken just bored with birding at the moment… though this has been ongoing for a year or so now. Just not enjoying it much of late.

Leave a Reply

